Sgaravatti Trend

What are the 7 Chakras and what do they mean?

The chakra system (translated from Sanskrit as ‘wheel’, ‘vortex’ or ‘circle’) belongs to Eastern medicine and originated in India more than 4000 years ago.

Often the oldest traditions conceal truly extraordinary remedies and recipes, which help to keep us in perfect shape!


It is built on seven levels, like seven energy stations placed one on top of the other, in a column of energy that rises from the perineum to the head and then beyond.

These stations are closely related to the physical and mental functions, and it is from here that all diagnoses of physical illnesses and inner ailments are made.

Each chakra, for example, is closely related to a specific part of our life; its function is linked to the organs and can affect their functioning, being influenced negatively or positively depending on how we live our daily lives.

They are also connected to endocrine glands, autonomic nerve plexuses and various parts of our body.

They have their own colour, sound, shape, all related to the type of energy frequency that inhabits them… from the lowest to the highest frequency, every man becomes an antenna that receives and transmits using a universal language.

Knowing the Chakras

Knowing the Chakras can help us develop our inner divinity, our Self, provided we allow it; this system is a virtual bridge that joins the polarities of heaven and earth, mind and body, spirit and matter.


The lower chakras, located close to the earth (perineum, sacrum, navel) are related to the more practical aspects of our lives, action, movement.

The upper chakras (heart, throat, mind, crown of head) represent the mental areas and use symbols, images, words, concepts.

The analysis and process of awareness from the lower chakras to the upper chakras is a real turnaround that leads to a switch in your life… it is no coincidence that we switch to the heart frequency!

They are all connected to each other, supported and fed by pranic energy or Prana that flows and spreads throughout the body through the Nadis, which are also connected to different processes: Ida the mental ones, Pingala the vital ones and Sushumna the awakening of spiritual consciousness.

The three main nadis run through the body from the earth to the sky, the first two in a spiral movement and the third one vertically. At the points where they meet, they provide locations for the chakras.

Chakras and the etheric body

The chakras belong to the body’s electromagnetic field (called the etheric body), invisible but perceptible, which extends just beyond the physical body and penetrates it.

The etheric body energetically supports the physical body and protects it from external attacks (bad thoughts, stress, conditioning, trauma, limited vision, physical and emotional wounds, toxic substances, bad habits…). Thanks to the presence of the chakras, the mental body is also involved.

These external attacks, if not managed correctly, create disharmonies in the vital processes of the human being which, over time, can worsen the situation considerably.

Nothing happens by chance and investigating, using this system, can be of great help in discovering the origin of the disturbance and resolving it.

Each chakra has a phase of development in a person’s life, has a very precise identity and reflects a fundamental right that must be maintained to avoid dysfunction.

It also presents a challenge to face, in order to proceed on the path of our evolution.


The chakras can be energised through the use of colours, sounds, touch, crystals, essences but above all by analysing our personal history to get to know ourselves and let go of everything that no longer belongs to us, in order to become the most active, healthy and radiant version of ourselves.

We will observe the chakras one by one, because only through awareness can we understand our true potential.


Monica Nicoletti

Follow Monica on her Facebook page Monica Yoga Libera Tutti

Read other articles by Monica

Follow us